Jumping on the bandwagon!

Most people start out a new year with a few modest new year’s resolutions.  But I’ve never been one for making them, mostly because they often seem trite (eat healthy, read more books, lose weight) and I don’t think anyone really takes them seriously. However, my life has recently settled into a comfortable place, one that does not lend itself to automatic, time-constrained goals. This is the first time I have ever found myself in such a position. I am a newlywed, so the past year or so was spent planning a wedding. Before that, I was focused on finishing grad school and finding a job I liked. Before that, college, high school, grade school… etc. There has literally always been some end for me to work towards. So on November 1st, when my husband and I returned from our honeymoon, I found myself blinking into a wide open, unplanned abyss.

This is not to say that we do not have goals, individually and as a couple. We do. They are just wildly abstract, undefined, and on no particular timeline. Goal: Have kids When: In a few years… or so. Goal: Go to Europe. When: When we can afford it. Goal: Redo the kitchen. And master bath. When: After we pay off some current debt. So on and so forth.

Then I saw a post by some of the lovely ladies of the October 2009 Anniversary board on The Nest talking about a “101 Things in 1001 Days” challenge. I did some Googling of my own and found that this meme has been around for a number of years, and has been popularized by a number of bloggers over the years. I figured this would be a good way to lock some of our big goals in to a timeline as well as track smaller accomplishments that I am interested in or have been meaning to do for awhile.

One of my goals was to start a blog to track my progress on the list… so here I find myself! Please excuse the mess while I get the blog organized, but I hope to eventually make it easy for visitors to track my progress through some of the longer term goals and to read about my experiences completing both the short and longer term goals.

I love messages, so please leave comments or email me with questions, suggestions, criticism, encouragement, etc!

Leave a comment

Filed under The List

Leave a Reply

