Gone swimmin’

If you’ve looked at my list, you may have noticed that I have some relatively straightforward goals (hang diplomas) and some… more complicated ones (lose 80 lbs). Towards the interest of the latter goal, I’ve signed up for Weight Watchers, and joined the Rec Center up the street. I’ve done WW before, so I know the drill, and I know it works… if you stick to the program. (There’s always a catch!) But this time I really don’t have any excuses. I’m not in a tiny apartment with a tiny useless kitchen, I’m not in grad school at night and therefore eating out 2 or 3 nights a week. I have a big, functional kitchen. I come home to a wonderful, supportive husband every night (who’s a good cook to boot!) I buy and make all of my own food. Literally no excuses.

Tonight I went swimming at the Rec Center. I swam competitively through high school, and getting in the pool is like riding a bike for me. I still feel completely at home in the water, even a decade later. Unfortunately, the muscle memory didn’t get the memo that I am NOT in the same shape I was a decade ago. First push off the wall, I sprinted 100 freestyle… and came up gasping for air. I slowed my pace down and swam 20 laps over about 25-30 minutes, mostly freestyle but with some back and breaststroke thrown in, mostly so I could catch my breath.

There were a few swim teams of school aged kids practicing, and little kids taking lessons. I remember being them, and now I’m that awkward old lady changing in the corner. I really look forward to someday bringing my own kids to the pool. They’ll definitely have to at least learn to swim, for safety reasons. But I would be lying if I didn’t say that I really hope they love it like I do. My best childhood memories are at the pool. I would literally spend all summer there. I was so excited when I was finally old enough to be a lifeguard… and get PAID for spending the summer at the pool! (A pittance, but still!) I loved giving swim lessons to the little kids. I wanted them to love it as much as I did. Burning my feet on the hot pavement, the smell of chlorine permanently on my skin. Love.

When I left the Rec Center tonight, it was cold, below freezing. I didn’t even notice. I was completely drunk on the head rush of adrenaline and dopamine. The good kind of exhausted, like after sex. Blissfully exhausted.

I can’t wait to go back. Goal 28, here I come.

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

