It’s getting hot in herrrrrr

This morning I got up early (8 am on a Saturday is early for me, okay?!) and drank 60 oz. of water, because I had a 10 am Bikram Yoga class to get to! Apparently I’m a glutton for punishment. If you’re not familiar, Bikram Yoga is 90 minutes of yoga performed in a 105 degree room. My sister has been raving about it for awhile now, so I figured I would give it a go. I did some research and found Bikram Yoga of Alexandria, which got great reviews on Yelp and is helpfully only about 10 minutes from my house. Also their website claims you burn 700+ calories in a session – chaching!

So, I packed myself, yoga mat, towel, two washcloths and an additional 50 oz. of water into my car in search of enlightenment and serious calorie burning.  I got there early, being a newbie and figuring that the Saturday classes might be a little crowded. Well. “A little” is an understatement. By 10 to 10 they were turning people away! The studio was full, there were probably 40-50 people there. And not gonna lie. It was HOT.  The website recommends that women wear a sports bra and workout shorts or tights… but I gotta be honest, my abs are no where NEAR ready for primetime! So I layered a light t-shirt over… which was quite promptly drenched through. But, it was definitely a good workout. And I achieved my goal of neither passing out or vomiting, so I consider it an overall success. I will be going back. And, from what I hear, the second class is much easier than the first.

In weight loss news, I have a weigh in tomorrow morning, and I’m really hoping to crack 20 lbs lost – I’m at 19.8 right now, so close!! 20 lbs is also a quarter of the way to goal. Then when I hit 23.3 down, I’ll have lost 10% of my starting body weight – so hopefully I can knock off those next few in the coming weeks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

