This is no April Fools joke…

I did 90 minutes of cardio today! I participated in Mary’s A Merry Workout Pledge. A few days ago, Mary posted on her blog that she would do 30 seconds of cardio for every comment that the post got. As Mary is a fabulous blogger and thus hugely popular… she got 180 comments! Then a bunch of people, myself included, said that we’d join her in her cardio quest.

SO, after work today I hit the gym, got on the treadmill, and ran/walked for the full 90 minutes, nonstop! The treadmills in my gym are apparently set to TURN OFF after 62 minutes (an hour + 2 minute cool down)… so I just turned mine right back on and did another 28 minutes! Thus explaining why I have two photos of the workout results…

For a grand total of… 5.41 miles! And 518 calories! I ran out of water about halfway through, which was probably the hardest thing to deal with. I listened to two This American Life podcasts, they always keep me distracted and entertained. For the first 45 minutes I alternated five minutes of running with two minutes of walking. After that I didn’t follow a strict regimen, but I was definitely walking more. The last 15 minutes I was really dragging… but I finished! Annnnd then I booked it to the water fountain.

Once I rehydrated, I did my strength training as well. My leg sets weren’t as good as usual, because my legs were so wobbly from all the cardio. But I did all my arm/back/chest/abs work.

Congrats to all of the other Merry Workout Pledge participants! Thinking about you guys definitely kept me moving on that treadmill!

P.S. Follow everyone’s workouts on Twitter: #amerryworkoutpledge

4 Comments

Filed under Health

4 responses to “This is no April Fools joke…

  1. I’m so glad you participated! You did great! I love that we did a similar thing with the run intervals (I did those times too…just less of them). And you did strength after that. You rock!

  2. Way to go! 90 minutes of cardio and then weights is amazing 🙂 I’m stuck exercising inside today so it looks like I’ll be making a date with my Jillian Michaels DVD!

  3. Pingback: Motivation? I Haz It! (A Merry Workout Pledge Recap)

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention This is no April Fools joke… « DCKate's 101 in 1001 -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

